Roasted Butternut Squash Fajitas

IMG_4399

This is a recipe that I adapted from a great food blog, forealslife.com. Check it out! This is a fantastic recipe that I’ve already made several times and I never get tired of it. It’s really easy to make too, just chop and roast. You know I love that!

ROASTED BUTTERNUT FAJITAS

Medium size butternut squash, peeled and cut into cubes or strips, as you prefer

1.5 large red and/or yellow bell peppers, chopped

1 large onion, chopped

1 tbsp. chili powder

1 tsp. each garlic and onion powder

1 tsp. cumin

1/2 tsp. salt

 

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

Toss the veggies with the seasoning and spread onto baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes, remove from oven, flip the veggies with a spatula, and bake 20 minutes more. This may take less [or more] time depending on how large you cut the vegetables.

IMG_4402.JPG

Next I made a nice pico de gallo. I just threw it together. I don’t know the proportions but  I made it with:

plum tomatoes

onion

peppers

cumin

salt

cilantro

lime juice

IMG_4401.JPG

Beautiful colors!

Next I steamed some brown rice and then I mixed up 3 different kinds of beans, black, kidney, and cannelini.

IMG_4403

Ever have one of those meals that’s so good, you just kind of purr through the whole thing? This is what we had tonight—a bowl with brown rice [it’s under there!] surrounded with beans pico de gallo, corn, butternut fajita mixture, romaine lettuce, and topped with cashew “sour cream”, and chopped avocado. I want this every day!

IMG_4434

And a beautiful feast for the eyes too!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Butternut Squash Fajitas

Leave a comment